Treasury/ALM

Take advantage of opportunities.

Transforming risks into opportunities.

Actively controlling risks in the portfolio is currently gaining importance. Risk transfer and transformation has always been a fundamental component of the banking business. With the development of international financial markets, the continuing negative interest rates, the increasing regulatory requirements and the significant pressure in terms of costs, the requirements of the modern management of assets and liabilities are constantly on the rise. 

In today’s world, adequate quantification and effective control of the interest rate, liquidity and foreign exchange risks in the bank portfolio is indispensable. As a central function, the treasury department is responsible for this. The implementation of a modern and innovative system for asset and liability management is therefore one of the most important tasks of a bank and is becoming increasingly critical for the sustainable stability and profitability of the institutions. 

We will support you with the right expertise. Measuring and controlling interest rate, liquidity and foreign exchange risks in the bank portfolio have long been amongst our core business fields.We have the necessary business expertise as well as the required system know-how to design and implement for our clients the best possible processes and systems tailored to their specific needs.

Our approach is oriented towards your requirements. Our core competences include the comprehensive support of our clients. Together with you, we design the functional and technical target architecture for your ALM system, your processes and your data. We support you in the IT implementation and advise you through to the roll-out of the new process and software solutions.

30+

successful consulting projects in the field of Treasury and ALM

100%

coverage of all interest, liquidity and foreign exchange risks

Your reliable partner.

  • Design and implementation of solutions for measuring, managing, limiting and reporting on liquidity, interest and foreign exchange risks
  • Design and implementation of methods for the measurement and steering of interest rate risk in the banking book in terms of present value and period
  • Design and implementation of internal FTP models for appropriate allocation of interest and liquidity costs
  • Design and implementation of regulatory requirements of the treasury department as well as its management (including LCR, NSFR, ALMM, IRRBB)
  • Integration of modern ALM/treasury systems (e.g. Ambit Focus, Calypso) as well as efficient IT architectures and data warehouses
  • Analysis of existing Treasury processes as well as support in the orchestration, optimisation and automation thereof

Proven success.

Redesign of internal liquidity model

Our task from a German state bank was the business and technical redesign of the internal model for measuring and controlling the short-term liquidity risk.

Implementation of IRRBB for periodic interest rate risk management

Based on the EBA Guideline (EBA/GL/2012/02) as well as the requirements from BCBS 368, a German state bank identified the set-up of a means to periodically assess interest rate risk (NII simulation) as a significant field of action. As part of the implementation project, we – together with the client – first worked out the technical cornerstones of periodically measuring interest rate risk.

Implementation of a Treasury target operating model

Through the integration of a comprehensive treasury target operating model, the deficits in data quality and determining results were eliminated, the ability to control was increased and operational risks and model risks were reduced. Using its business and technical expertise, Firstwaters made a significant contribution to a sustainable solution through design, implementation and further development.

Let's talk.

For further insights, get in touch with our experts regarding the subject of treasury and asset and liability management.

Ruben Dinter

+49 6021 4 54 84 82
treasuryalmwhatever[at]firstwaters.de

Treasury/ALM

Chancen nutzen.

Risiken in Chancen transformieren.

Die aktive Steuerung der Risiken im Bankbuch gewinnt aktuell an Bedeutung. Die Risikoübernahme und -transformation war schon immer ein grundlegender Teil des Bankgeschäfts. Mit der Entwicklung der internationalen Finanzmärkte, der anhaltenden Negativzinsphase, den steigenden regulatorischen Vorgaben und dem erheblichen Kostendruck haben sich die Anforderungen an ein modernes Asset-Liability-Management stetig erhöht.

Die adäquate Quantifizierung und effektive Steuerung der Zins-, Liquiditäts- und FX-Risiken im Bankbuch sind in der heutigen Zeit unverzichtbar. Als zentrale Funktionseinheit ist die Treasury hierfür verantwortlich. Die Implementierung eines modernen, innovativen Asset-Liability-Managements ist daher eine der wesentlichen Aufgaben der Banken und wird für die nachhaltige Stabilität und Profitabilität der Institute immer bedeutsamer.

Wir unterstützen Sie mit dem richtigen Know-how. Die Messung und Steuerung der Zins-, Liquiditäts- und FX-Risiken im Bankbuch gehören seit vielen Jahren zu unseren Kerngeschäftsfeldern. Wir verfügen über die fachliche Expertise sowie über das erforderliche System Know-how, um für unsere Kunden die bestmöglichen und auf ihren Bedarf zugeschnittenen Prozesse und Systeme zu konzipieren und umzusetzen. ​ ​

Unser Ansatz orientiert sich an Ihren Anforderungen. Zu unserer Kernkompetenz zählt die vollumfängliche Begleitung unserer Kunden. Wir designen mit Ihnen die funktionale und technische Zielarchitektur rund um Ihr ALM-System, Ihre Prozesse und Ihre Daten. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der IT-Umsetzung und begleiten Sie bis zum Roll-out der neuen Prozess- und Softwarelösungen.

30+

erfolgreiche Beratungsmandate im Bereich Treasury/ALM

100%

Abdeckung aller Zins-, Liquiditäts- und FX-Risiken

Ihr verlässlicher Partner.

  • Konzeption und Umsetzung von Lösungen zur Messung, Steuerung, Limitierung und dem Reporting des Liquiditäts-, Zins- und FX-Risikos
  • Konzeption und Umsetzung interner FTP-Modelle zur sachgerechten Allokation von Zins- und Liquiditätskosten
  • Konzeption und Umsetzung von Modellen zur Bewertung komplexer Finanzinstrumente des Bankbuchs
  • Konzeption und Umsetzung von regulatorischen Anforderungen an das Treasury sowie deren Steuerung (u.a. LCR, NSFR, ALMM, IRRBB)
  • Einführung moderner ALM-/Treasury-Systeme (z.B. Ambit Focus, Calypso) sowie effizienter IT-Architekturen und Datenhaushalte
  • Analyse bestehender Treasury-Prozesse sowie Unterstützung bei deren Orchestrierung, Optimierung und Automatisierung

Nachgewiesene Erfolge.

Neugestaltung des internen Liquiditätsmodells.

Unser Auftrag von einer deutschen Landesbank war die fachliche und technische Neugestaltung des internen Modells für die Messung und Steuerung des kurzfristigen Liquiditätsrisikos.

Umsetzung von IRRBB für periodische Zinsrisikosteuerung.

Basierend auf der EBA-Guideline (EBA/GL/2012/02) sowie den Anforderungen aus BCBS 368 hat eine deutsche Landesbank den Aufbau der periodischen Zinsrisikosicht (NII-Simulation) als wesentliches Handlungsfeld identifiziert. Im Rahmen des Umsetzungsprojektes haben wir gemeinsam mit dem Kunden zunächst die fachlichen Eckpfeiler der periodischen Zinsrisikomessung erarbeitet.

Umsetzung eines Treasury Target Operating Models.

Durch die Einführung eines gesamthaften Treasury Target Operating Models wurden Defizite in Datenqualität und Ergebnisermittlung beseitigt, eine Erhöhung der Steuerungsfähigkeit erzielt sowie operationelle Risiken und Modellrisiken reduziert. Mit fachlichem und technischem Know-how hat Firstwaters bei Konzeption, Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung maßgeblich zu einer nachhaltigen Lösung beigetragen. 

Unterhalten wir uns.

Für weitere Einblicke kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten zum Thema Treasury und Asset Liability Management:

Ruben Dinter

+49 6021 4 54 84 82
treasuryalmwhatever[at]firstwaters.de