Finance & Risk

Finance & Risk

Together with our customers we have prepared the implementation of various solutions for Market Risk. These implemented solutions include the consideration of a standardized approach as well as the utilization of internal models – from the historical simulation method to the Monte Carlo approach. The solution architectures have ranged from integrated complete systems to mutually coordinated systems within the Treasury and Risk system landscape.

From the beginning we support our customers in quantitative topics such as CVA and FRTB, as well as with the implementation of requirements and issues around the overall bank management. Regulatory requirements are, in this climate, often the initial impetus, but also provide possibilities for comprehensive improvements of the existing data and process architecture, and therefore the future-orientated adjustment of the dispositive system landscape. We examine the challenges jointly with you, and advise you of the possible solutions.

In order to comply with modern accounting requirements, for example IFRS, we have with many customers implemented large and stable sub-ledger systems and connected to Back Office systems as well as to SAP (general ledger). We also support the statutory and quantitative challenges as well as the complications regarding handling very large data volumes.

In major projects we support from project setup through to implementation and test until final roll out. In the process we are therefore involved in the conception and the parameterization of the current systems, as well as becoming familiar with the development of the required individual components. We have comprehensive experience in the conception and implementation of valuation and market data models, and also in the illustration and connection of data from internal or external sources. We are familiar with the challenges and solution approaches to deal with large data volumes and computationally-intensive requirements.

We have been supporting our customers for nearly twenty years in the areas of risk, treasury and accounting, as well as with the introduction of trading and settlement systems. From our daily work we are familiar not only with the common trading, settlement, market and master data systems along with their data models and interfaces, but also the difficulties and possibilities of the business areas around risk management and finance. We have at our disposal an excellent understanding of traded financial products, including the evaluation and accounting approaches for all other required data and models. In addition, we are also very familiar from numerous projects with the regulatory requirements and reporting obligations in the capital market environment.
 

References

Our Austrian client has carried out several projects as part of a program to completely and timely meet the regulated requirements regarding market risk. Various modules (Calypso, Asset Control, SunGard and Active Pivot) from diverse producers have been introduced and the replacement of the old system KVaR, a group wide, cross-asset class VaR calculation has been implemented. A special challenge was to enforce a cross-border, uniform solution in the timeframe given from the regulator and to manage the strong dependencies of other projects within the program. Firstwaters was supportive in the following roles Project Manager, Stream Lead, Solution Architect, Business und Quantitative Analyst.

The "Markets Invest Banking Accounting Solution" program of an international Banking Group implemented a central group wide subledger platform. On the product side this includes Interest Rate Derivatives, Credit Derivatives, FX Derivatives, FX, Money Market and Securities for the locations Munich, Milan, London, Singapore and New York. For this purpose, a solution based on Calypso was implemented, because the client was already using the software as a back-office platform. Alongside the centralization / harmonization of the heterogeneous subledger system landscape (ATLAS, NOSTRO, MIDAS etc.) it was also possible to cover missing functionalities within the program, which was imposed on the bank by an associated audit report.

Finance & Risk

Finance & Risk

Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden haben wir bereits unterschiedliche Lösungen für das Marktrisiko eingeführt. Die eingesetzten Lösungswege umfassen sowohl die Berücksichtigung der Standardansätze als auch die Nutzung interner Modelle – von der historischen Simulation bis hin zu Monte Carlo Ansätzen. Die Lösungsarchitekturen reichen dabei von integrierten Gesamtsystemen bis hin zu mehreren aufeinander abgestimmten Systemen innerhalb der Treasury- und Risiko-Systemlandschaft.

Von Beginn an begleiten wir unsere Kunden bei quantitativen Themen wie CVA und FRTB als auch bei der Umsetzung von Anforderungen und Fragestellungen rund um die Gesamtbanksteuerung. Regulatorische Anforderungen sind in diesem Umfeld oft die initial treibende Kraft, bieten aber ebenso Möglichkeiten zur umfassenden Verbesserungen der bestehenden Daten- und Prozessarchitektur und somit zur zukunftsorientierten Anpassung der dispositiven Systemlandschaft. Wir beleuchten gemeinsam mit Ihnen die Herausforderungen und beraten Sie bei der Lösungsfindung.

Um modernen Buchungsanforderungen, wie bspw. aus IFRS, gerecht zu werden, haben wir bei mehreren Kunden große und stabile Subledger Systeme eingeführt und an Back-Office-Systeme sowie an SAP (general ledger) angebunden. Dabei lösen wir die gesetzlichen und quantitativen Herausforderungen ebenso wie die Schwierigkeiten im Umgang mit sehr großen Datenmengen.

In größeren Vorhaben unterstützen wir vom Projekt Set-Up über Umsetzung und Test bis zum Roll-Out. Dabei sind wir in der Fachkonzeption und der Parametrisierung der gängigen Systeme ebenso erfahren wie bei der Entwicklung der benötigten individuellen Komponenten. Wir verfügen über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Konzeption und Umsetzung von Bewertungs- und Marktdatenmodellen aber auch in der Abbildung und Anbindung von Daten aus internen oder externen Quellen. Wir kennen die Herausforderungen und Lösungsansätze im Umgang mit großen Datenmengen und rechenintensiven Anforderungen.

Wir begleiten unsere Kunden seit nahezu 20 Jahren in den Bereichen RISK, Treasury und Accounting sowie bei der Einführung von Handels- und Abwicklungssystemen. Aus unserer täglichen Arbeit kennen wir nicht nur die gängigen Handels-, Abwicklungs-, Markt- und Stammdaten-Systeme mit ihren Datenmodellen und Schnittstellen, sondern auch die Schwierigkeiten und Möglichkeiten der Konzernbereiche rund um das Risikomanagement und im Finance. Wir verfügen über ein exzellentes Verständnis der gehandelten Finanzprodukte, der Bewertungs- und Buchungsansätze sowie sämtlicher benötigten Daten und Modelle. Darüber hinaus sind wir auch mit den regulatorischen Anforderungen und Meldepflichten im Kapitalmarktumfeld aus zahlreichen Projekten bestens vertraut.

Referenzen

Im Rahmen eines Programms führte unser österreichischer Mandant mehrere Projekte durch, um die regulatorischen Anforderungen bezüglich Marktrisiko vollständig und zeitgerecht zu erfüllen. Mit der Einführung diverser Module (Calypso, Asset Control, Sungard und Active Pivot) unterschiedlicher Hersteller und der Ablösung des Altsystems KVaR wurde eine gruppenweite, Asset-Klassen-übergreifende VaR Kalkulation implementiert. Eine besondere Herausforderung war eine länderübergreifende, einheitliche Lösung in dem vom Regulator vorgegebenen Zeitrahmen durchzusetzen und die starken Abhängigkeiten zu den weiteren Projekten des Programms zu managen. Firstwaters unterstützte in den Rollen Projekt Manager, Stream Lead, Solution Architect, Business und Quantitativ Analyst.

Im Programm "Markets Invest Banking Accounting Solution" einer internationalen Bankengruppe wurde eine zentrale gruppenweite Subledger Plattform eingeführt. Auf der Produktseite umfasste diese Interest Rate Derivatives, Credit Derivatives, FX Derivatives, FX, Money Market und Securities für Lokationen wie München, Mailand, London, Singapur und New York. Zu diesem Zweck wurde eine Lösung auf Basis von Calypso implementiert, da die Software bereits als Back Office Plattform beim Auftraggeber genutzt wurde. Neben der Zentralisierung / Harmonisierung der heterogenen Subledger Systemlandschaft (ATLAS, NOSTRO, MIDAS etc.) konnten bis dahin fehlende Funktionalitäten im Rahmen des Programms abgedeckt werden, deren Umsetzung der Bank durch entsprechende Prüfungsberichte zur Auflage gemacht wurde.